Yemen Logo

The 2019 KRU ( Women's Festival kicks off this Sunday, 3 rd February at the Kenyatta University Grounds.

This season will have a total of nine teams participating: Defending Champions Standard Chartered Impala Ladies, Top Fry Nakuru, Northern Suburbs, Shamas Rugby Foundation, Homeboyz RFC, Mwamba Ladies, Comras, Bladbabes and the new Kisumu Rugby Dolphins.

The ninth team during each leg will be one of the upcoming teams. This is why we are having the Kisumu Dolphins participate in this first leg of the Festival. We have had a total of five new ladies' teams fronting their bid to participate in the league; Chuka University, Bomet University, Egerton Hornets, Masinde Muliro and the Kisumu Dolphins. We are hopeful that they will showcase their talent in the league.rdquo; said Nicholas Aballa, the KRU Women's Rugby Coordinator.

The tournament format will have three pools and the top team per pool advances to the Cup semifinals. The three teams will be joined by the best loser to complete the semifinals pairing. Teams five to eight will face each other in the ranking semifinals while the team that finishes ninth will be relegated automatically.

The National Team players are required to participate in the first three legs of the Women's Festival as part of their training program ahead of the World Rugby Sevens Qualifiers later in the year in Hong Kong.

Source: Kenya Rugby Union (KRU)

Related Post

About Us

The website publishes the news, which is gathered from all the sectors of the country with keeping an eye on different sorts of news from all over the world. All kinds of news on our news website do not consist of any sort of content that can be called the prejudice one, that strategy keeps us away from adding up any useless extra content in the news.